Code 255254
PublishDate: Saturday, December 25, 2021 10:17

IEA welcomes UNSC decision over extending exemption of travel ban on Taliban officials

Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan welcomed the decision by the United Nations Security Council over extending exemption of travel ban on a number of high-ranking Taliban officials including Deputy Prime Minister Abdul Ghani Baradar.

Afghan Voice Agency (AVA)_A spokesperson of IEA Inamullah Samangani meanwhile asked the removal of names of Taliban’s officials from the black lists of UN and the US based on the Doha agreement. Inamullah said that the removal should have been done earlier.

A committee assessing the bans of the in a statement on Thursday, December 23 extended exemption of travel ban of the officials of IEA for another period of 90 days.

The officials include first Deputy PM Abdul Ghani Baradar, second Deputy PM Abdul Salaam Hanafi, Deputy FM Sher Muhammad Abbas Stanekzai, Acting FM Amir Khan , Khairullah Khairkhwa, Noorullah , and eight other officials of the Taliban. Earlier, Sher Muhammad Abbas had said that the US has breached the Doha agreement by not removing the .

He said that the list was agreed to be removed three months after the that was inked between the US and the Taliban on February 29, 2020.


Your comment

Related posts

Latest news