Code 220861
PublishDate: Saturday, March 6, 202109:58

Slain Afghan women to receive honorary ‘IWOC’ awards

Afghan Voice Agency (AVA)_US State Department is set to give the honorary International Women of Courage Award to seven Afghan women leaders and activists.

The #IWOC_award will be given to them as they were assassinated in 2020 for their dedication to improve lives in Afghanistan.

US Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken will be hosting IWOC Awards’ virtual ceremony on the 8th of March, to honor a group of women from around the world.

#Jil_Biden, First Lady of the United States, will also deliver her remark.

The First Lady of the United States, Dr. Jill Biden will deliver remarks to recognize the courageous accomplishments of these women.

The US department stated that “In addition to the individual IWOC awards that will be presented on March 8, Secretary Blinken will also present an honorary IWOC award to a group of seven Afghan women who were assassinated in 2020 while serving their communities during a pivotal moment in Afghanistan’s history”.

“These tragic murders underscore the alarming trend of increased targeting of women in Afghanistan and the United States condemns these acts of violence,” read the statement.

The assassinated Afghan women to receive IWOC awards include, Fatema Natasha Khalil, General Sharmila Frough, Maryam Noorzad, Fatema Rajabi, Freshta, Freshta Kohistani, and Malalai Maiwand.

Your comment

Related posts

Latest news