Code 205821
PublishDate: دوشنبه 10 September 139914:50

Afghan Parliament Approves 6 Ministers, NDS Chief

The Afghan parliament on Monday approved the candidates for six ministries and the chief of the National Directorate of Security (NDS), and voted against the confirmation of the nominees for the Ministry of Women's Affairs and Ministry of Information and Culture.

In Monday’s session, 244 out of 248 lawmakers were present and the nominees needed 123 votes to be approved.  

Ahmad Zia #Saraj was approved as head of the #National_Directorate of Security with 220 votes in favor, Haroon Chakhansuri as minister of Mines and Petroleum with 154 votes, Anwar ul-Haq Ahadi as minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Livestock with 189 votes, Noor Rahman Akhlaqi as minister of Refugees and Repatriation with 165 votes, Qudratullah Zaki as minister of Transport and Civil Aviation with 165 votes, #Mahmud_Karzai as minister of Urban Development and Housing with 154 votes and Najibullah Yamin as minister of Public Works with 149 votes. 

Tahir Zuhair, the nominee for the Ministry of Information and Culture, was denied confirmation having received only 78 votes in favor, and Hasina Safi, nominee for the Ministry of Women’s Affairs, came up short with 119 votes and thus was not approved by the Afghan parliament. 

The parliament speaker Mir Rahman Rahmani has asked President #Ghani to introduce two new #nominees for the Ministry of Women's Affairs and of Information and Culture, #respectively.

Your comment

  • AvaAdvertisement

Related posts

Latest news

  • AvaAdvertisement