Code 156849
PublishDate: Saturday, March 28, 202010:06

US special envoy congratulates Afghan leaders on team for Taliban talks

"This consensus is a meaningful step that moves the parties significantly closer to intra-Afghan negotiations," he said on Twitter.
Late on Thursday, Afghan government announced a 21-member team to negotiate with the Taliban.
EU special envoy Roland Kobia also welcomed the announcement of the team, calling it a key step for intra-afghan negotiations to start as per commitments in Doha agreement.
"It also positively signals a much needed agreement & cooperation between the various political forces in Kabul," he said on Twitter.
The team, announced by State Ministry for Peace, is headed by Masoom Stanekzai, a former National Directorate of Security chief.
Members include: Fatema Gilani, Nader Naderi, Abdul Matin Bek, Fawzia Koofi, Zirar Ahmad Muqbil, Abdul Hadi Arghandiwal, Mohammad Rasool Talib, Habiba Sarabi, Ghairat Baheer, Mohammad Hafiz Mansoor, Ghulam Farooq Majroh, Enayatullah Baleegh, Batur Dostum, Kalimullah Naqibi, Mohammed Natiqi, General Ayub Ansari, Shahla Fareed, Sharifa Zurmati, Khalid Noor and Amin Hamidi.

Your comment

Related posts

Latest news